Cheesecake recipe

I can’t say enough good things about this recipe. Being a New Yorker by birth, I know cheesecake, and this is simple and unbelievably yummy! For overkill add some chocolate ganache on top.  You will notice that there is no crust. None is needed.
  • 1 pound cream cheese
  • 1 pound ricotta cheese
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted and cooled
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups sour cream

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, cream the cheeses and sugar. Beat in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the melted and cooled butter, flour, cornstarch and vanilla. Beat until mixture is well combined. Fold in the sour cream and mix well.

Pour into an ungreased, 9-1/2-inch springform pan. Place pan in the middle of the preheated oven and bake for 1 hour. Turn off the oven, leaving the cheesecake in for another 2 hours without opening the oven door. Let cake cool completely in pan and then chill in refrigerator for at least 2 hours. “Spring” the pan, remove the cake and garnish with berries or top with glaze, if desired.

6 comments

  1. Sounds delicious. I still want a graham cracker crust on the bottom, though. As much as I love cheesecake, I can no longer eat more than a sliver before it makes me sick. Junior’s has a slight edge over Lindy’s, but both are excellent.

  2. Mmm, Junior’s…

    My Mom grew up not too far from the one on Dekalb ave, so I have fond memories of their cheesecakes. I’ll need to visit when I go back to NY in April for my nephew’s wedding.

  3. Janrae’s told me that she makes excellent cheesecake, and that Sovay could polish off the better part of one in a single sitting. She’d bake it, then have to hide it. There’s no reason for me to doubt the story.

    I miss the days during which I could polish off two big slices of cheesecake. Fruit topping/glaze was optional, but if there was fruit on top, it had to be blueberry!

    Do let me know if Junior’s tastes as good as we remember.

  4. I hate it when I make editing typos! Insert the word “there” between “if” and “was,” in the last sentence of the second paragraph.

  5. Done.

    Janrae also mentioned that story about Sovay in the enchilada thread as well. No one can resist the cheesecake!

    I will let you know if it’s as good as I remember.

Leave a Reply

