Back to Work…for now…

With my three days off at an end, I managed to drag my butt to work today, and begin the countdown process of the impending layoff.  I’ve been gathering some stuff together to take home, so I don’t have a big box to cart away my final day here.

Despite some depression about the whole situation, I’ve managed to be pretty constructive with my time off. I’ve worked on my resume a bit-and have a pro resume writer willing to take a look and give me some pointers on it-and looked over Monster.com at jobs.

However, the two things that captivated most of my time is a new writing project that really spreang out of nowhere. It hearkens back to the old slasher flicks of the 80’s, and while the body count is high, it’s also filled with (I hope, anyway) characters you care about. In 3 days I’ve managed to write almost 24,000 words on it. I’m not sure yet how long it will finally be, but I’m going by my gut on this one. I’d been working on the timeline for my trilogy of fantasy novels when the idea of a serial killer story came, literally out of the blue.  I started writing the idea down, to work on at another time, but as these things go, I didn’t stop for about 3-4 hours.  I took a nap and went right back to it, eager to see what happens next.

In between bouts of writing I also started playing the DS remake of Dragon Quest IV. Originally released in 1992 for the NES (if I’m not mistaken), it tells the typical story of strangers banding together to save the world. It’s very old school, with turn based combat and lots of grinding, but also a lot of fun. Broken up into 5 chapters, each of the first four tell the story of one of your characters, until you all meet up in chapter 5. The dialogue is witty and entertaining, the graphics are a mix of 2D and 3D, and the music is simply awesome. I’m about 20 hours, and from what I’ve read, have about 15 hours or so to go before finishing, so a proper review will wait until it’s done.

So, four days into the new year, I’m busy on a new project, looking for another job,  and looking forward to a productive year.

Leave a Reply

