Finally Got Him!

From the moment I was able to tame exotic pets, I had one thing in mind: a corehound. Those slobbering, two headed beasties were too cool to resist. The only one not in a dungeon was in Shadowmoon Valley.  For weeks now, I’ve gone there one or twice  for each of those weeks to tame the damn thing with no luck.

Unless you consider dying in a puddle of acid luck, which I don’t. It seemed everytime I got close, he’d knock me back, disrupting the training process and I’d have to start over and hope it worked before I died. I can’t even begin to count the number of times I’ve tried. How much gold I’ve spent in repairing equipment as a result of my bulleaded, yet, predetermined death.  Probably enough to get my cold weather flying training, most likely. 

Since I was home sick today, I decided to try again. I mentioned this in guild chat, and made some comment about hoping he doesn’t knock me back yet again.  And then the miracl came.

“Use frost trap, freeze ’em in place.” Someone said.  I’d never felt so dumb in my life. Well, okay I have, but not in a long time. At least three days, maybe two.  Even though I’m a hunter and I’ve trained in traps, I’ve never really used them. Bobo, Detta or the rhino I picked up did well enough, I didn’t need them. I rarely run instances-yet-where they can be used effectively, so it never dawned on me. 

I am he who the name huntard was destined for. 

I go down to Shadowmoon Valley, find my prey, spring the trap and voila! Spanky is mine!

What? what’s wrong with naming a green, two headed drooling monster Spanky?

wowscrnshot_010609_1855561

6 comments

  1. It’s always funny when you don’t use an ability that should be obvious. I use maybe a quarter to a third of the stuff on my action bars, and most of the other stuff, I don’t even know what it does until I mouse over it. My paladin’s attack against undead – didn’t use it for a while and forgot all about it. Didn’t use my mage’s blink for a while and forgot about it.

  2. Kim, it took me a long time to get the hang of running my warrior and now he’s kick ass. I went dps instead of tank with him. However, I did just get him a really good shield and sword so when it was needed he could switch over to a modified tank mode.

    Going solo, I figured the best defense was a strong offense

    My dk is another story. There’s a point where you are informed that you must win five duels with your fellow players. Once guy was incredulous when I refused to duel him on the grounds that I was still figuring how best to run my dk. When we reached the final quest to get free of the lich king, I was two levels above him. My dk is now five bars from 60 and he only got out into the world last night.

  3. Cuss,

    Unless something changed, you don’t have to duel 5 players, there are NPC’s you can duel as well.

    I’ll be having a nice big WOW update today or tomorrow as Kharisi will be getting to 80 today, I’m already halfway there and only hit 79 last night.

    BTW how does a warrior DPS? I thought they were strictly tanking.

  4. there’s two ways to go with a warrior, heavy arm and low strikes is part and parcel for a tank. Shield and one handed weapons.

    A dps is mainly set up to do heavy damage instead. Most of the skill points go into attacking rather than defending. Two handed weapons are the main approach. Everything is designed to slam through your obstacles. You can tank a dk, but they are mainly designed for melee and slamming through.

    I dueled both players and the npcs until I was satisfied that I could handle it.

    I have a low lvl pally and playing him for a few months before moving onto the dk helped

    My warrior is currently sitting at lvl 57.
    My dk is lvl 59
    My pally is lvl 14

Leave a Reply

