The Politics of Writing

Or, more accurately, making your political beliefs known on messageboards. I’ve been thinking about this for awhile now; how easy it is to read a political thread (whether it’s on SL, Odark, Tomo’s or really any board on the web) and add your opinion while questioning the species  of someone’s mother.  These threads get heated, ugly and often snipped or locked.

I know they sure as hell raise my blood pressure at times.  yet, I wonder, if we as writers do ourselves a disservice by making our beliefs known. I’ve read enough posts on SL, Odark and Tomo’s board to know that there are certain writers, and publishers I will never read because of their political beliefs. I also make no bones about that with friends of mine, when they ask about an author they may be thinking of reading. 

I’m not talking about minor disagreements-everyone holds opinions that others won’t agree with; I’m talking about those who consistently and vehemently hold ideas-no matter how wrong-as the only way to think and that anyone who doesn’t is an idiot. I admit, I’ve been guilty of that myself, and it’s why I try and stay out of political conversations. I don’t always succeed, but I’ve managed to cut down on my political posts compared to what I had been posting. 

Evryone is entitled to their opinion, but is it always a good idea to make that public knowledge? If I know what two different writers opinions are and only have enough money to buy one book, who’s going to get my money? The one I agree with most of the time, or the one who I perceive as talking out of their ass? It’s a fine line to walk, and one I don’t always do well at. 

It’s easy to pick out nitwits with no talent like Dagstine, Philbin and Pacione, and with messageboards, it’s now as easy as reading posts to determine who gets my money and who doesn’t.

4 thoughts on “The Politics of Writing

  1. Unless I was buying a book that was specifically about politics, about a politician, or by one, I’d choose the book in which the story seemed more interesting — author’s political beliefs be damned.

  2. Well, the book can’t talk back to you and you can fill it full of highlighter, underlining, notes in the margins, and post it notes. Which is what I usually do with a work of non-fiction.

Leave a Reply

